Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 02-23-2018, 09:52 AM

Default powder coat cast bullets

who powder coats their cast bullets?

I'm curious about accuracy from, say, a 30-30, as there are conflicting reports on other forums.

some people also say you can push them to velocities similar to a jacketed bullet, is this also true?

any other issues or benefits you've seen with powder coating?

instagram: @schrodo_of_the_shire
Old 02-23-2018, 04:06 PM

I'm fairly new to powder coating but so far have had good luck with it. I am loading cast 357 with a fairly stout jacketed load with no leading or terrible loss in accuracy.

For my coyote pics @trophy_country_coyotes on instagram

life's too short to fish nymphs
Old 02-23-2018, 05:12 PM

I do 150 grain cast with gas check powder coated and 31 grains 3031 . Can get rounds touching at 70yards. Thats a remlin 3030
Old 02-23-2018, 05:27 PM

Have you had a chance to run that 31 grains of 3031 through a chronograph. I would be interested to hear what your getting and what's the bore like to clean after the powder coating. D.H.
Old 02-23-2018, 09:03 PM

interesting, veeeeery interesting, what hardness of lead are y'all running at full charges?

instagram: @schrodo_of_the_shire
Old 02-23-2018, 10:11 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flieguy View Post
interesting, veeeeery interesting, what hardness of lead are y'all running at full charges?
im almost afraid to say as the cast lead purists will shout and cry bad things at my lack of accurate casting practices but i will say it anyways.
due to the nature of the guns i am shooting and their purpose as fun easy to load close range plinkers i dont tend to be super religious on my lead alloy. i came across a lot of pure lead sheets that i have been trying to use up instead of my wheel weights so my method has been to throw a 1/2 lb wheel weight ingot "roughly every half pot" to use up the pure stuff.