Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 04-04-2018, 08:44 AM

Default NETFLIX and You Tube question!

As I'm new to NETFLIX, does playing you tube use up more data?does it cost extra money?I'm using a Roku to stream this stuff any hidden foreseeable problems with this set up?Thank you.
If people concentrated on the really important things in life,there would be a shortage of fishing poles.Doug larson. Theres a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot. Steven Wright.
Old 04-04-2018, 08:47 AM

You can log in to your Netflix account and choose your speed. YouTube shouldn't be as bad unless you are a very heavy user.

Quote:
Sign in to Netflix.com.
Select the profile you'd like to change your data usage settings for.
Note:
Data usage settings cannot be adjusted from a Kids profile.
Select Account.
Under My Profile, select Playback Settings.
Select your desired data usage setting (please note that each estimate below is per stream, and that restricting data usage may affect video quality):
Low (0.3 GB per hour)
Medium (SD: 0.7 GB per hour)
High (Best video quality, up to 3 GB per hour for HD and 7 GB per hour for Ultra HD)
Auto (Adjusts automatically to deliver the highest possible quality, based on your current Internet connection speed)
Select Save.

Edit>

Found a listing for YouTube use. If you watch 2 hours a day of 720p content you can hit around 30 GB month.
Old 04-04-2018, 09:18 AM

Default netflix

What that does it translate into real $$$/month/movie, not interested bite coins?
Old 04-04-2018, 09:24 AM

All depends on your internet plan as well, most internet providers have a certain Gigabyte limit per monthly plan, you will need to figure that out as well in order to see the full picture.

As noted above, you can change quality settings on Netflix, AND Youtube as well. These are all factors that change how much data you will go through.
Old 04-04-2018, 09:55 AM