Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 12-07-2010, 04:58 PM

Default Hunting knives.....?

What is your experience with what you think is the best brand, model, type of steel, and shape of your favourite knife. I am looking at buying an overall hunting knife, in the $50-$100 range, and I am not too sure of the best brand, or type of steel to get. I really like the Buck Omni hunter knife and the Gerber Metolius, so far. Any input would be great...... Thank you in advance!
Old 12-07-2010, 05:13 PM

grab one of them and a Havalon Piranta and you're good to go!!!!

tm
Old 12-07-2010, 05:55 PM
Banned

My two favorite knifes fall into that price range, The grohman #1 and the buck 110.
Old 12-07-2010, 06:07 PM

I have been using a Ruko Fox for 5 or 6 years now and I love it. I think I paid 70 bucks or so.

I gutted and skinned 6 animals with it this year as well as deboned 2 deer with it and I still don't need to resharpen it. I simply touch it up with a steel and its OK for another go.

Problem is, I can't seem to find another one anywhere. I would sure love to buy another in case I lose this one or for some reason wreck it.
Old 12-07-2010, 06:09 PM
sheephunter

Became the proud owner of a Puma knife this year....I'm impressed!
Old 12-07-2010, 06:12 PM

CRKT or Knives of Alaska are around a $100 they have treated me well so far.
Old 12-07-2010, 06:12 PM

I would save up a little more, and order the Dozier of your choice, for a practical quality hunting knife. Most base models can be had in the $200-225 range.
Old 12-07-2010, 06:27 PM

I just ordered one of this guys "Lite Hunters". We'll see in two years.

In the meantime I REALLY like my Kershaw Gentleman Folder.

http://www.geneingramknives.com/

-Billy Molls
Old 12-07-2010, 06:31 PM

I've never owned one myself, but my hunting buddies all use fixed blade Buck's. If I ever have to buy a new knife, that's the one I'll be buying.
Old 12-07-2010, 06:36 PM