Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 08-30-2015, 11:26 AM

Default Waterfowl west of Calgary?

Hi guys,

I'm new to Alberta and just got set up with my licenses and was hoping to hunt ducks and or geese this coming season. I was planning to hunt on crown land to make things simple. Upon researching however, it seems crown land is few and far between. basically everything is at least leased and I'd still need permission. I haven't been able to find lease holder/land owner contact info anywhere. I live in Canmore right now. Can anyone provide any leads on potential hunting grounds between Calgary and the Rocky Mountains? I've basically ruled out anywhere within the Stoney Indian Reserve as I've tried tirelessly to get ahold of anyone there. I have a pack raft and don't mind bushwhacking for a km or two to get to a pond.

I appreciate any feedback
Old 08-30-2015, 12:33 PM

You're a two hour drive from any kind of good waterfowling.
Old 08-30-2015, 01:06 PM

Ok thanks. Is that because there just aren't many birds that close to the foothills or because its all private land? What about the Jumping Pound area?
Old 08-30-2015, 03:47 PM

Default Ducks

It's too far west to see good numbers of ducks. A few ponds might yield some good shoots but probably not consistently
Old 08-30-2015, 05:44 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by calgarychef View Post
It's too far west to see good numbers of ducks. A few ponds might yield some good shoots but probably not consistently
Yes, way off the flyway.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Central_Flyway

Grizz
Old 08-30-2015, 06:21 PM

On the other hand...
You may find yourself looking at some really cool ducks like harlequins.
In reality the best water fowling is where the most birds are. Refer to the flyway maps and that is where the big predictable flocks will be.