Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 11-01-2014, 06:14 PM

Default Vehicle Firearm Storage

Hey guys,

Im pretty new to being a firearm owner myself. I was wondering what the legality of keeping a rifle in my truck is?
Assuming that it is stored out of sight and locked properly,

Does leaving in my truck full time still fall under regular transport legislation? Or does leaving it in my truck when I'm not going hunting or to/from the range constitute "storage"?

Any of you guys keep a firearm in your vehicle? if so, how?

'Ppreciate your take on this guys.
CB
Old 11-01-2014, 06:16 PM

If it is in an unattended truck it is stored, and completely legal.
Vehicle must be locked and the firearm out of sight.
case it and put it under the rear seat or even on the floor, unloaded.
Cat
Old 11-01-2014, 06:33 PM
Banned

Do yourself a favour. Print off the storage and transportation regs from the RCMP website and put them in your glove box. I had a bad experience a few years ago with a young RCMP officer who tried to charge me for unsafe transportation/storage even though I met the criteria that Cat outlined above.

The regs in the glove box and his supervisor saved me from losing my rifle that day and a potentially costly court case.

99% of cops know the regs and won't hassle you. That day I got the 1%.
Old 11-02-2014, 10:51 PM

Yup. Read the rules and know em well. U don't wanna run into a cop that isn't sure of the rules....
Old 11-02-2014, 11:41 PM

Smile We have a safe

As age has crept up we have sliders in both truck to get the kennels open with some ease. Mt wf bought a rig that goes under the slider that has 2 long flat drawers that are gun safes. Ammo in one Guns in the other.
Old 11-03-2014, 06:10 AM

Print a couple of these out. Keep one in your truck and the other in your safe at home.

http://www.rcmp-grc.gc.ca/cfp-pcaf/f...posage-eng.htm
Old 11-03-2014, 08:51 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by catnthehat View Post