Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 10-31-2012, 07:57 PM

Default Remington 887 Nitro Mag Reviews?

Hey Everyone,

So I am just getting into hunting, specifically upland birds such as pheasants, grouse and partridges.

I am looking into purchasing a solid beginner shotgun, something that will get the job done but is not going to be overly expensive.

The Remington 887 pump action Nitro Mag is the shotgun I have my eyes on at the moment. (http://www.remington.com/products/fi...nitro-mag.aspx)

Can anyone give me some input on what they think about this gun? Personal experiences? Suggestions on other good starter guns?

Thanks!
Old 10-31-2012, 08:19 PM

Writer Randy Wakeman had little good to say about it and there are some very unfavourable reviews out there.
http://randywakeman.com/ClunkerOf2009Award.htm

That said I am sure that some guys use them to great effect and love them. I looked at a few and the plastic coating didn't enthrall me.
Old 10-31-2012, 09:04 PM

Welcome to the forum lred

Don't under estimate the Remington 870s... For the price they really are a great, reliable first shotgun.

You can try mine out friday/sat and see how you like it. Any chance you can take 1/2 day on Friday?
Old 10-31-2012, 09:59 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by kayaker View Post
Writer Randy Wakeman had little good to say about it and there are some very unfavourable reviews out there.
http://randywakeman.com/ClunkerOf2009Award.htm

That said I am sure that some guys use them to great effect and love them. I looked at a few and the plastic coating didn't enthrall me.
Thanks for the reply and information! I haven't seen the 887 mag in person but I have used the Remington 870 and it seemed like a great gun.
Old 10-31-2012, 10:04 PM