Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fly-Fishing Discussion

Old 08-17-2016, 09:57 PM

Lightbulb Tight Line Nymphing

This is more of a personal accomplishment than anything else.

Long story short, I started learning how to tight line nymph this year. I've been reading books, ( Dynamic Nymphing - Gorge Daniel), watching videos, and then trying those techniques on the water. I wanted to get away from having to rely on indicator nymphing. Essentially I wanted to add another arrow in the proverbial quiver.

All I can say is that I'm very impressed. My catch rates are way up this year since I've started using these techniques.
I've already had multiple double digit days. Last year, only on a great day would hit double digits.
I'm now able to fish more types of water. I'm able ot fish places where I would never be able to drift an indicator rig. These same places I would walk right by last year, I'm now able to catch fish. It's amazing the places you'll find fish.

I'm still learning, but it's been a fantastic and eye opening experience so far.

If by chance there are veteran or more accomplished tight line nymphers out there, that wouldn't mind sharing a tip or or two, I would be very grateful.

Thanks in advance.
Old 08-20-2016, 01:29 PM

go like the southern alberta fly fishing league facebook page and join their next competition. Regulations prohibit the use of indicators so most fishing is done via tight line or czech style nymphing and most competition anglers are very good at it, you should pick up some tricks.

some tips that really help:

get yourself a sensitive 10'-11' 3wt or 4wt rod. The echo shadow is an excellent one, greys streamflex is even better.

use heavy nymphs and light line (I like 4-6lb fluoro) to keep the bugs down and the line straight.