Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 07-10-2010, 10:34 PM

Default New to the Edmonton Area, any idea's?

I am fairly new to Edmonton and I was wondering if anybody had any ideas as to where to fish, whats being used, techniques etc. Not only am I new to the Edmonton area but I am also new to the pike and walleye scene as I am from the Kootenays and have fished nothing other than trout and the odd ling cod (burbot). I will be fishing off shore as I don't have a boat right now, but I am in the market so I will take those ideas as well.
I would also be open to a fishing partner to show me the ropes out here if you want some company.
Old 07-11-2010, 07:34 AM
troller

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbarmby View Post
I am fairly new to Edmonton and I was wondering if anybody had any ideas as to where to fish, whats being used, techniques etc. Not only am I new to the Edmonton area but I am also new to the pike and walleye scene as I am from the Kootenays and have fished nothing other than trout and the odd ling cod (burbot). I will be fishing off shore as I don't have a boat right now, but I am in the market so I will take those ideas as well.
I would also be open to a fishing partner to show me the ropes out here if you want some company.
Don't head north much so I can't help you out on any spots, beside the river. As far as the walleye and pike go I find the never fail yellow/red 5 of diamonds seems to work well or rapela type lures in trout/perch patterns seem to do well also.

As far as fishing partners go check out this thread:

http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/showthread.php?t=53384

It's where people, like yourself, are looking for others to go out fishing with. Hopefully someone from up north will pop in and maybe give you some better info than I can

Welcome to AO!
Old 07-11-2010, 12:03 PM