Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 08-01-2016, 12:52 AM

Default Building Goose Decoy Silhouettes

Hi everyone!

Hope you all had a great weekend! I'm new to hunting, and really want to get into waterfowl this year, and try to trick some geese in a field shoot of some kind. I know I'll need to put some Kms on the vehicle and scout a ton, but that's a hole other can of worms.

I've got 12 floater mallards, but I don't have any goose decoys and wanted to build some of my own. Money is tight so was thinking some homemade goose silhouettes.. Any suggestions on material? I've googled and looked at past posts, but didn't find much recent. I'd love to get my hands on corrugated plastic sheets but it's pretty pricey. Has anyone used hardboard? Would it hold up in the weather? Also any suggestions for inexpensive stakes? Steel would last longer, but maybe some wood trim cut down?

Thanks for any and all advice. I wont mind putting in the time to build them, but just looking to do it for as little cost as possible.

Thanks again!
Old 08-01-2016, 06:17 AM

Ive used the corrugated plastic then ripped stakes on the table saw ..not sure about hard board but dont see why it wouldnt work they wont be out in the weather that long .
Dont think ive spent more than about 4 hours in field for a limit sometimes only an hour
Good luck
Old 08-01-2016, 08:27 AM

5/16 or 3/8 plywood, not the lightest but you can cut the bottom into a point to stick into the ground. I started making plywood silos back in the mid 70's and by the late 80's had up to 200 made. Worked great back in the day. Very durable. Every 3/4 years just would need a fresh coat of paint and were as good as new.

Gave most away, but still have a few which occasionly get put out for nostaglia sake and they still work fine.
Old 08-01-2016, 09:16 AM

Smile Free!