Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 03-15-2018, 05:56 PM

Default Finding Deer in the Spring

Hi everyone,

I am a wildlife technician at the University of Calgary looking for your knowledgeable insight!

I am going to be looking for deer poop samples May & June from both white-tails and mule's for a parasite study I am working on. I ran the project last year and had a hard time finding deer during this time of year due to fawning reducing movement, deer not being grouped up as they are in winter and all the lush veg making it difficult to opportunistically find poop.

Looking for any advice on deer patterns, habitat preference or good areas to find alot of fecal samples in the spring as this is when they shed the most parasite eggs in their feces. Note this is a parasite that very rarely alters the health of deer and is not a risk to humans or your house pets. The parasite is more harmful to domestic sheep so we are trying to see if deer may be transmitting the parasite between sheep flocks in the province.

Also if anyone opportunistically has fresh deer poop they come across and you want to participate in the study and help me out big time I can set up a Purolator shipment for you to send in samples you find or meet you in person if you are in the Calgary area.

Collin Letain

Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, University of Calgary

HSC 2535, 3280 Hospital Dr. NW, Calgary, AB, T2N4Z6 Canada

Ph: 403-210-6678 /403-992-7817

Please feel free to email or call anytime with questions or to update me if you have a batch of samples you are wanting to send down so I am prepared for when they arrive. My cell if the time is outside office hours is 403-992-7817 which you can reach me at anytime.

Please see a brief description below. Thanks!

Brief project description:

University of Calgary Faculty of Veterinary Medicine
Funding Agency: Alberta Livestock & Meat Agency

Objectives: