Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 02-28-2022, 03:43 PM

Default First time hunter - choosing a WMU

I am new to Alberta and new to hunting, as well. I am slowly getting myself up to speed with understanding the hunting regulations in Alberta, and I think I now understand the General License vs. Special License regulations.

I don't know anyone in Alberta with access to private land, so I think I am restricted to hunting only on public land. Based on the results of last year's Special License draw, it doesn't look like I would get a Special License my first year submitting my name. But I think this means I can still hunt with a general license.

In looking at different types of public land for hunting, I see that some Hunting Conservation Sites are available for hunting. I found WMU 136 (Shell Buffalo Hills Conservation Ranch, https://www.albertadiscoverguide.com...=E3&number=167) doesn't require a Special License.

Does this mean I can just show up to this WMU during the general season with a General License and hunt the game that is applicable to the license?
Old 02-28-2022, 04:12 PM

The answer to your question is no. The regulations mostly apply to entire WMU's and not a conservation site. All elk hunting in 136 is on draw except for "archery only". All mule deer is on draw in 136 except for antlerless mule deer "archery only". WT antlered and antlerless require no draw for "archery only".
WT antlerless are on a draw for the general season.

You need to apply the regulations as per the WMU. iHunter is a good app that will give you some quick answers to questions but it is not meant to replace the regulations. iHunter screenshot attached as an example.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 4AE68E3D-6C3C-45B0-AD6B-2F6A16C9AA51.jpg (17.7 KB, 50 views)
Old 02-28-2022, 04:14 PM
Banned

Where do you live?
Old 02-28-2022, 04:26 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by marky_mark View Post
Where do you live?
I live in Calgary, in the NW.