Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum

Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/index.php)
-   Fly-Fishing Discussion (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/forumdisplay.php?f=101)
-   -   Technical fly-fishing? (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/showthread.php?t=317576)

Mr Flyguy 03-18-2017 10:29 AM

Technical fly-fishing?

Discussing various threads is fun here, and helps to pass the time until the ice melts.

Anyway, here's a more serious thread for input.

I've been chucking flies for >45 years but often see the terms "technical water", "technical fly-fishing", "technical nymphing", etc., etc., in a number of articles and wonder what the heck they mean by the word "technical". Is it just elitists trying to make the sport more complicated than it should be or trying to scare away newbies and novices from going to a particular piece of water?:confused:

Jason.seaward 03-18-2017 10:39 AM

Hi Mr. fly guy
The term "technical" fly fishing stems from the branding of tight line nymphing (influenced by euro approaches) by members of the US fly fishing team. I think they are using the term to illustrate a very effective/efficient approach to nymphing. There are aspects that are technical.

Jason.seaward 03-18-2017 11:14 AM

You are right. It does not need to be this complicated. This approach is appealing for those you want to expand on their usual techniques.

The Spank 03-18-2017 12:57 PM

I wonder what the technical term is for when I just feel like dragging a large streamer on a sink tip line behind the boat using my electric trolling motor for ice out trout? :medium-smiley-035:

Jason.seaward 03-18-2017 04:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Spank (Post 3497024)
I wonder what the technical term is for when I just feel like dragging a large streamer on a sink tip line behind the boat using my electric trolling motor for ice out trout? :medium-smiley-035:

It's called "lazy".

(Joking)

Mr Flyguy 03-18-2017 05:34 PM

Quote:

I call it mooching, sounds more "technical"