Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum

Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/index.php)
-   Hunting Discussion (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Wild Horses? (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/showthread.php?t=333685)

Ken3134 11-19-2017 05:45 PM

Wild Horses?

Being from Saskatchewan, I have very little experience or knowledge about wild horses and how they behave towards other animals and vice versa. I saw a couple of them out today and just gave them their space. I did notice their presence in this area for sometime now but this is my first time being up.close to them. I have noticed that there seems to be considerably less deer sign in this area where they seem to frequent? Please share any words of wisdom and advice. Thanks. Ken

muirsy 11-19-2017 06:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ken3134 (Post 3670928)
Being from Saskatchewan, I have very little experience or knowledge about wild horses and how they behave towards other animals and vice versa. I saw a couple of them out today and just gave them their space. I did notice their presence in this area for sometime now but this is my first time being up.close to them. I have noticed that there seems to be considerably less deer sign in this area where they seem to frequent? Please share any words of wisdom and advice. Thanks. Ken

The deer in the area I hunt definitely tend to vanish when wild horses move in - for whatever reason. And unfortunately there can be a lot of horses around. They can really ***** up a hunt in my experience.

J

guywiththemule 11-19-2017 06:13 PM

"But they are so wonderful and free" and identify as 'free spanish mustangs"....or some such "rot" that the horse huggy-kissy crowd keeps pushing in alberta.:snapoutofit:

Pony 11-19-2017 06:16 PM

Does anyone know the history of the horses? Are they really "wild" horses or did they escape etc..

YYC338 11-19-2017 06:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pony (Post 3670956)