Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum

Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/index.php)
-   Archery Discussion (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Totally New to Archery (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/showthread.php?t=369531)

Katie4u 09-16-2019 01:43 PM

Totally New to Archery

Hi Everyone I'm totally new to Archery!

I just purchased a used Center Point Sniper 370 Crossbow yesterday.

I have had it looked at and all is good with it, I've purchased what I need for it.

I'm wondering though, where the best place I can shoot it for target practice is in Edmonton (Archery indoor or outdoor clubs) or surrounding areas?

Any tips for a Newbie? :thinking-006:

Thanks

twinwoodsman 09-16-2019 02:29 PM

I am from Calgary, so i can't help with the club search, but i know that none of the clubs that i have been to (or even called for that matter) will let you shoot a cross bow at there targets. your best bet might be buying a cross bow rated target for your self and finding a field that you can practice in.

bobtodrick 09-16-2019 03:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by twinwoodsman (Post 4027651)
I am from Calgary, so i can't help with the club search, but i know that none of the clubs that i have been to (or even called for that matter) will let you shoot a cross bow at there targets. your best bet might be buying a cross bow rated target for your self and finding a field that you can practice in.

Pretty much the same in Edmonton. Crossbows are more powerful than other types and wreak havoc on the butts, which have to be replaced more frequently with crossbow use.

Jdunbar 09-16-2019 03:32 PM

Wyld archery just off yellowhead and jimbows off messier is where I’ve been going myself, I’m new to the xbow scene as well, they been pretty decent at both places.

As well as yes a personal target helps a lot, I’ve picked one up from cabelas for I think 70-80$ on sale

FinnDawg 09-17-2019 06:45 AM

Quote: