Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum

Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/index.php)
-   Fishing Discussion (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Quantum vs Pflueger (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/showthread.php?t=404009)

dr.crentist 10-07-2021 04:07 PM

Quantum vs Pflueger

I've been using a Quantum HSX 54 Hellcat combo for a few years now, been pretty good for a 12lb medium rod. I noticed my son picking it up instead of his Zebco 33 and I thought it would be a good time to get another medium combo for the family.

Checked out Cabelas and the Pflueger President is on sale, virtually the same specs but a few bucks more than I paid for the Quantum. I thought it would be a good time to compare but was disappointed when I got it home and held them side by side. On the water test will have to come later. The Pflueger reel is a fair bit smaller, lighter but not in a good way, less bearings and looks like it contains more plastic compared to the Quantum. The rod looks nice, I went with a cork handle rather than the molded pistol grip but the eyelets look flimsy.

Next purchase I'm going to piece together with a nicer rod and reel rather than buying a combo. Suggestions? (6'6" or 7' - 12lb line - medium action)

dustinjoels 10-07-2021 04:46 PM

I have almost every pflueger reel made. From the purist/Trion on the low end up to the patriarch. And I will never go back to shimano.

I’ve never tried the quantum reels so I have no comparison.

mlee 10-07-2021 05:53 PM

The newer presidents aren't as good as the older ones from even 10 years ago.....that said they are still probably a top 3 reel under $100. I own 4 in 3 sizes.....and they have been through hell and back. Can't comment on the rods. The last president combo I bought was a 6' ML fenwick eagle rod with a 2500 president like 7 years ago.

sk270 10-07-2021 06:26 PM