Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum

Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/index.php)
-   Hunting Discussion (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   New to wall tents. Stove suggestions? (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/showthread.php?t=352504)

Buckhorn2 10-05-2018 07:30 PM

New to wall tents. Stove suggestions?

Im new to wall tents. I picked up a used 12x14 wall tent. It has a stove ring in it. What size tent should i look for. Whats the pro/cons of the different styles. I will not need to cook on it. Does not have to be light weight. Mid weight is ok as ill be able to drive my truck to where we are going to set up base.

Is there a store around calgary that i could pick one up. I dont really want to mail order a stove id like to get out tuesday or wednesday. Anyone have a used on for sale?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

35 whelen 10-05-2018 07:34 PM

Pick yourself up a medium-sized airtight get them at any hardware store usually

Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk

Canadasnowman 10-05-2018 09:01 PM

I too have a 12x14 with a 8 ft add on kitchen.
We use a 20 inch long tube type air tight . into minus 30.
Sitting around in short sleeve shirts and long underwear playing cards.
Plenty warm enough.
Northwest Shelters sells them.
CSM

warriorboy10 10-05-2018 10:45 PM

Don’t really need a big stove the trick is keeping it at a constant temp. A little trick, hang the potty seat behind fire box until it’s needed and users will never have a cold ars!

buckman 10-06-2018 05:49 AM

I have a 24 inch airtight for my 12x 14, will burn all night if you damp it right down and burn 4 inch spruce rounds jammed full to the top.

They are inexpensive light and as long as you put a couple of inches of dirt in the bottom, long lasting.

bdub 10-06-2018 09:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by buckman (Post 3851074)