Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum

Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/index.php)
-   General Discussion (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Water Wells (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/showthread.php?t=342934)

Newview01 04-11-2018 07:32 PM

Water Wells

Had an old well tested today and sent a camera down.

Pretty corroded. Lots of iron bacteria. Probably clogged the perforations a lot. Considering original (was drilled in 79) flow rate was 50 gpm, now down to 15.

Filled a few buckets, seemed to be hair floating on the top. The well guy said if there isn’t 5’ of dead mice at the bottom, there is 8’. Makes sense to me as it never had a lid.

Question is, can it be shocked / cleaned, and reused? Or can it be shocked / cleaned / decommissioned, and can another well be drilled in the same aquifer with no bacteria risk? What are my options?

CMichaud 04-11-2018 08:31 PM

I am no expert but based on what you are telling me I would be inclined to try shocking it and see what happens.

From the condition you are describing and based on the age you probably run the risk of destroying whatever crap is built up inside which may be protecting what remains of its integrity

How deep is the well?

Gifted Intuitive 04-11-2018 08:33 PM

Well Cleaning

It can be cleaned. There is a machine that operates as a pressure washer and a hose will be lowered into the well. The pressure will blow debris about 30 feet above the well casing. When cleaned the water can be tested.

Newview01 04-11-2018 08:42 PM

The well was originally drilled to 100’, but now is only 92’.

Has not been used recently.

Newview01 04-11-2018 08:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gifted Intuitive (Post 3769093)
It can be cleaned. There is a machine that operates as a pressure washer and a hose will be lowered into the well. The pressure will blow debris about 30 feet above the well casing. When cleaned the water can be tested.