Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum

Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/index.php)
-   Fly-Fishing Discussion (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/forumdisplay.php?f=101)
-   -   Which part of bull elk hide to keep for fly tying? (http://www.outdoorsmenforum.ca/showthread.php?t=329517)

fishnguy 09-17-2017 05:27 PM

Which part of bull elk hide to keep for fly tying?

I have an access to a complete skin which was taken off a bull elk a few hours ago. Which part should I keep for tying, if anything? I have never used elk hair before and know nothing about it. The skin will be disposed off in hour or two, so I would greatly appreciate it if someone with knowledge and experience provided me with an advise.

nick0danger 09-17-2017 05:43 PM

The belly!

ShortsideK 09-17-2017 07:20 PM

the scrotum

fishnguy 09-17-2017 09:31 PM

^ Serious or kidding?

Thanks for the reply, nick0danger! I got some belly, some mane and some random piece that looked good (likely will end up being useless).

Pikebreath 09-17-2017 11:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fishnguy (Post 3624122)
^ Serious or kidding?

Thanks for the reply, nick0danger! I got some belly, some mane and some random piece that looked good (likely will end up being useless).

You have never heard of the elk hair caddis? Stimulators? Wing posts for parachutes? Elk hair has lots of uses....

fishnguy 09-18-2017 12:25 AM

I did hear about those! But I also mentioned, I have no experience with elk hair whatsoever in addition to being new to fly tying in general. I think I have been at it for about three months now, maybe. Just about as long as I have been fly fishing. So yes, I have no idea which part I should be keeping :)